top of page

Shirts vs. Skins

Updated: 7 days ago



The Lord: "So, people. Everyone line up in two groups. Over here on my right I want all the folks who are wearing the white robes to stand. You will be called "shirts". Here on my left, all of you naked folks will line up. You are called "skins".


One of the Shirts: "Lord, are we going to play a game against each other?"


The Lord: "No, my friend! The game is already over. These are the winning and losing teams. The shirts won hands down and are the eternal shut your face champions! The skins lost and are the all time losers."


A Skin: "Wait Lord! When was the game and what were the rules?"


The Lord: "The game was played while you lived on the earth. You had the rules! You carried them in your arms when you went to church on Sunday and to the bible study on Thursday night."


A Shirt: "Sorry Lord, I was never very good at memorization, could you run through the rules again?"


The Lord: "Sure! I made it very clear in my book that I would judge the winners and losers by how they treated the lowest of my followers."


A Skin: "But Lord, who were the lowest?"


The Lord: "Oh, well anyone who loves me! The quiet ones, geeky ones, the ones the world hated and treated badly. Those who had a hard time with sin. Those who where different by color, culture or position in life. Those who, though they loved me, struggled with sin, in tears, that you never saw or asked about. Those who you ignored cause they didn't fit with your "in" crowd. Those not pretty, popular or powerful. Any of those who you felt in your heart that you were better than. Those are the ones who represented me the best because they loved me most even when you didn't love them at all. Since you didn't love those who who I approved of, you really didn't love me. Make sense now? I did make this extremely clear you know..."


A Shirt: "I'm sorry Lord, I still don't get it. I don't think I was that good..."


The Lord: "Why? Because you struggled?"


A Shirt: "Yes Lord. I was not a good representative for you. I had lust in my heart, I was envious and even struggled with a great dislike for many. I did cry out to you a lot, and never understood why I didn't do better. I was afraid you weren't helping me because I was not good enough! I knew of your grace, but I just struggled with fear because you are so perfect."


The Lord: "Yes, I am perfect, but my only request was your all! Was I the most important thing to you? Was my grace to you enough to extend it to others? I never expected you to be perfect, but I did require you to wrestle with your sinful nature as you walked with me. I always gave you my forgiveness because you loved me and showed that in how you treated others."


A Shirt: "I did love to worship you Lord, but how did I really show love for you? Wouldn't I have done better?"


The Lord: "You did great my little champion! You treated me with kindness when you were kind to those who were different, those with goofy personalities, those who loved me but struggled like you. Those who had marital problems, health problems, job problems. Those, who others in the church, ignored because they were different or struggled."


A Skin: "But Lord! I showed my love for you! I shared tons of "Jesus" posts on Facebook! I even liked many more. I sent the creepy Christian dudes in my church invites as well! They were Facebook friends!! I would also make efforts to say hi to them on a regular basis at church. They were church friends! Why would that not be enough?!"


The Lord: "Facebook does not qualify as a relationship. What would it be like if all I required to win was that people like my Facebook page or follow me on twitter? Just friending someone on Facebook does not show love! Nor does a church-only friendship! Do you really think that they didn't notice your reluctance to their friendship efforts? Do you think it didn't hurt them or me? A true relationship of love takes time, effort, real interest and connection. My church was not your high school. I expected you to outgrow that way of thinking. The only social click I was happy with was those who believe separating from those who don't. And that was only to act better as a people to entice those who don't believe to consider me! NEVER to treat anyone as someone not good enough."


A Skin: "But Lord you asked too much! They were just too different. They didn't fit with my circle of friends! I had a great big circle too! I couldn't hang out with them, my friends would have said I was a loser!"


The Lord: "I do understand that you did not want to hang out with those not among your circle of friends. To be direct, neither do I. In fact that is why there is this separation of these two groups. I want to spend eternity with those who love others like I loved them. For I know their love is real. They are the true winners. Now it is time for the losers to walk the field! Shirts! You won! Now let's go celebrate!


Yea, I know I took a few liberties here, but the game is still being played as long as we are still alive. As serious as it is, and as clear as it is, that there will be a judgement of "believers", I see so many who still don't get the rules!


There is still time to join the winning team. It is simple: Believe in Jesus, and show it by loving others like he loves you.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Run!

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page