top of page

Huge

Updated: Jun 26



I realized something in my prayer time this morning.


In this world, I am a nobody. I am small, insignificant and my days are made up of tasks that have no real lasting value.


That is who and what I am, it is true, and sometimes it is sad to me.


However, when I am in His presence, I feel big, huge in fact.


I think it is because His presence just gives off that love, that concern, that feeling of how important I am to Him. That is also true, and not just made up in my head.


I have been feeling that for years, even over all the negative feelings I face each and every day. This is a big reason I like to sit with Him.


Because of this realization, it occurred to me how overwhelming the abrupt change, that Adam and Eve experienced, must have been. What they gained when they ate from the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil, was just that, knowledge of good and evil. They suddenly became very aware of the vast difference between themselves and God. They made clothes, and hid, because they realized they were naked.


That naked feeling, I am now convinced, was a new feeling of smallness, a feeling of complete unimportance when compared to God.


For the first time in their lives, they felt alone, insecure, self-doubt, useless…naked. They of course would hide and try to cover themselves.


Much the same as I try “cover” myself every day.


I in my mind try to convince myself that I am not as small as I really am. I boast to myself, I try to make others appear smaller than me (only in my mind, I am not a complete jerk, to cowardly for that), and the saddest is the super hero day dream (Yes, I am a guy, and I admit this…sad as it is…).


This is why the Jesus thing is so important. God came to bridge the gap. To show us, “Yes, you are small, but to me, you are the most important thing that I have made in all the universe. So much so, that I would become like you and die to prove it.”


That is pretty big, no… it is out and out HUGE.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page