top of page

A Good Work



James 1:2-3

Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.


You can't persevere unless you trust God.


Without faith that God is in control, and has a good reason for all of your struggles, you will be lost in fear, discouragement and hopelessness.


Seriously, even with faith, you will still struggle with these things. This is what makes Faith grow.


If God is not in control, you could make a decision that can destroy you and others you care about.

If God is not in control, the devil or one of his many minions (spirit or flesh) could destroy you and your loved ones.

If God is not in control any number of dangerous things in this world could just happen to destroy you and/or those you love.


Yes, it would be a terrifying world without trust in the one above it all.


Not afraid? Faith is deep, not just in the mind. Everyone has an amount of it. God gives this amount. He also makes it grow...or not, by the struggles of life.


I have known many who just "happened" to get a terrible wasting disease. I have known others who lost a loved one to the same, or lost them due to drugs, alcohol or infidelity.


Terrible things. Things that make us question whether there is a God and if so, does He love us at all.


Life on this rock can be so beautiful; a sunset, mountain range, or my favorite, a clear blue ocean. Yet in each of these things, horrible events could happen...and do. For me in my ocean dream, bacteria could eat my brain. Teeth could take my leg. Evil men could attack. A storm could wash me away. A meteor could squash me like a bug.


There is almost an infinite number of awful things that could happen. Why am I not terrified? Why are you not? Because you just ignore the possibilities?


I don't think so. I say it again. Everyone has a wee bit of faith in God. It is His gift. He also makes it grow. It is HIS plan. It is what He wants. His will.


I have not faced a terrible wasting disease. I have faced job loss, rejection in the world and the churches of God. My struggles are generally from men. The result is a deep fight with loneliness, disappointment and discouragement.


But I wait, even though my fight seems over...and I lost. I wait for the one who is ultimately responsible for my pain.


He could have stopped it. He didn't. He could have strengthened me so I beat them all. He didn't. He has done it for many others in Scripture! Why not me?


I have a promise from the maker of heaven and earth. A personal promise that He gave to me. He promised to make me the best HE can make me, not the best I can make me. This did happen. He proved it outside of my own mind in the sight of others. That promise is irrevocable and more firm than the foundations of the earth.

So why do I fear at all?


Because I am not God. Jesus showed struggle in Gethsemane. Jesus is God, yet I believe He did all that to show us it is OK to struggle. He showed us exactly how to respond to it. "Not my will but yours be done".


It is hard. Sometimes, impossible to handle the hurt He throws our way. You could blame it on the devil, or others, but that would lead you to a diminishing of God. Was He sleeping? Did He go on vacation? Or worse...does He hate me?


What you do with these questions defines how your faith in God grows.


Me, I am really unhappy with where God has put me.


My job is dull. With only a few requests to fix things in each day, I spend most of it sitting on my butt.


I am not well liked and not respected at all at work, or church - even though I can "show myself approved" by my knowledge of the Book.


Even my children don't trust or regard what I teach.


I have been rejected and cut off from my own mother, brother and most of my sisters.


Yes, I don't have a wasting disease. But my struggles are mine. Given to me by my real father.

I know He has a plan. I know I have a promise. I know there is a very good reason for it all.

I don't like it!


But I do trust Him.


Look, it's OK to hurt. It's OK to voice your pain and frustration. It's OK to cry and be angry.


It's not OK to give up.


Jesus could have said "Enough! I don't want to go through this!"


So can we.


Jesus didn't, and neither will I. I have His promise, more sure than the beautiful sunrise.

He will make me exactly how He wants. The best I can possibly be. What more could I want?

I just have to trust Him and wait. He will do it.


All we need to do is trust Him and say "Your will be done."


When it is over and our struggle is complete and God finishes His work...He will say:

"Look how awesome this one is!"

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page