top of page

Animals

Updated: Jun 9




Many years ago, when my oldest daughter, now 17, was just a toddler, I was watching a show on PBS about Lions and Hyenas. The show was in fact called, “Lions and Hyenas”. In the show, the film makers followed a pride of lions, and a pack of Hyenas, naming individual animals and watching their actions. It was extremely fascinating.


The Lion tribe was dominated by a massive male lion, which basically did nothing but boss everyone around and sit on his butt. The females did all the hunting, and general fighting, with the Hyenas who controlled a territory next to theirs. Although, when the male got up to fight, it was quick and brutal. The animals basically kept the peace by not infringing on each other’s territory.


The hyenas were ruled by a female hyena that had a daughter the filmmakers named Princess. Princess was treated, well, like a princess. The other Hyenas groomed her, got her food, and pretty much did whatever she wanted. She, of course was terribly spoiled.


There was a small battle between the lions and hyenas, that did not go well for the lions. They killed one of the lion females. Because of this, the hyena Matriarch, got a bit uppity, and seriously infringed on the lion territory starting a small war. The Matriarch did not survive.


Princess, was now without her Mother, the ruler of the pack, and still too young to take the reigns of power. Another female hyena then lead the charge in a battle with the lions, and assumed command of the pack.


The rest of the pack brutally shunned Princess. It was like they were making up for all the butt kissing they had to do. Even the little cubs were aloud to harass her, and if she defended herself, she would be attacked.


Princess, it seemed, could not handle the change. She basically went wonko, and wandered off. She ended up wandering far into the lion territory creating a HUGE problem for the hyena pack. The lions went ballistic. That got the male involved. The show ended with the male lion, in slow motion, chasing down the new hyena matriarch and snapping her neck...with one swipe.


There was obviously much more to the show as it lasted an hour. But I was fascinated by how they acted toward each other. It occurred to me, how people act toward each other in the work place, at school, at home and even at church. So I said to myself, and God, “Wow, they act just like people.” As soon as I said this, the Holy Spirit spoke to me…”No, you act like them”.


Ouch.


We are not animals. We have power, and choices, that they don’t have. God has made us above them. How? Simple, we can choose not to act like animals! We also have a greater future, if we turn to Jesus Christ and follow. He definitely did not act like an animal. By self sacrifice, turning the other cheek, putting others above himself, serving others out of love, not fear, and much, much more. These are not the ways of animals.


Animals want to be top dog. They will only show love, and appreciation for those who love and care for them. Animals will kill to get what they want, if they can get away with it. Animals will steal from each other. Animals will act like animals. That is OK. There is nothing wrong with that. They were made that way, and God will not judge them for acting that way.


However, we are different. We are made in God’s image, not just in appearance mind you, but in heart. We can love like He does, we can sacrifice like He does, and we can live like He does.


Unfortunately, we don’t do this very well, especially in the churches. I have seen people in churches act just like animals. Leaders, who want their butt kissed. Members wangling for position, and power, not a whole lot different than how dogs do. And sometimes they act even worse than animals, they trash on the weak, and helpless in their own pack. This is really, really sad.


Although Jesus has clearly stated in His word, that we are to support, protect and care for each other, “Christians” have acted worse than animals. Do you think He is pleased?



Matthew 25:31-46

31. "When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his throne in heavenly glory.

32. All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats.

33. He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.

34. "Then the King will say to those on his right, 'Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world.

35. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,

36. I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.'

37. "Then the righteous will answer him, 'Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink?

38. When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you?

39. When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?'

40. "The King will reply, 'I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.'

41. "Then he will say to those on his left, 'Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels.

42. For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink,

43. I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.'

44. "They also will answer, 'Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?'

45. "He will reply, 'I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.'

46. "Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life."



Matthew 7:15-23

15. "Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep's clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves.

16. By their fruit you will recognize them. Do people pick grapes from thorn bushes, or figs from thistles?

17. Likewise every good tree bears good fruit, but a bad tree bears bad fruit.

18. A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit.

19. Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire.

20. Thus, by their fruit you will recognize them.

 21. "Not everyone who says to me, 'Lord, Lord,' will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.

22. Many will say to me on that day, 'Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?'

23. Then I will tell them plainly, 'I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!'


If we act like animals, we are not His, flat out.


I was driving along in Houston back in 1986. I heard a teacher on the radio talk about how we were to fear God. He quoted a bunch of scripture about our responsibility, and the consequences of not fearing God, but he never said how, or what it meant. So, I asked God, right there while driving along. I said, “Lord, I know we are supposed to fear you, but I don’t believe I do… I am not afraid you will hurt me, as I know you love me. I know you forgive me when I come to you. I know you are patient with me when I struggle with your will. So how am I to fear you? What does it mean?”


His reply was simple; He basically quoted a section of the passages above. He said, “Depart from me, I never knew you”.


That is truly scary. Imagine, standing before God, thinking that you got it down, thinking that you were a godly person…only to hear, that HE does not know you! It would be like coming home to hear your spouse say, “I don’t love you, and I never did”…then leave. Ouch.


You see, the passages in Matthew 7 and 25 speak of the coming judgment. There are two kinds, those who are sheep, and those who are goats. The difference is how they treated others due to the relationship they have with God.


Are you “thorny”? Do you look down on others? Jesus didn’t (see Philippians chapter 2). Do you climb socially to be above the others in the group? (Goats do that! They climb everything to be higher than all others). Do you ignore the weak and hurting? Do you avoid those who “messed up” because you are too good for them? Do you avoid people who make you uncomfortable because they are nervous, insecure or different? If so, ask yourself, are you a goat? Do you bear bad fruit? How do you know?


Fear God.


Concern yourself primarily with your relationship to Him. If you are afraid to hear “depart from me, I never knew you”, then you are in good shape, and your actions toward others will show it.


Sadly, the churches I have been in are full of Goats. Some of them are leading too! When I was unemployed and my ministry collapsed, I was not comforted by many in the churches, I was attacked. Very few asked how they could help. Most ignored me, and my family, because they were “uncomfortable” around us. Those that offered help, encouragement…Love and acceptance, showed that they belonged to Christ, that they were not animals, that they were not goats. I myself can stand as a witness for them in judgment, but in truth Jesus already knows them.


Me, I don’t want to act like an animal. I am afraid of hurting my relationship with the Lord. I care about others. I have, and will sacrifice for others again and again, expecting nothing in return. I choose to act like my Christ. That is what it means to be a follower of Christ…a Christian, not an animal.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Run!

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page