top of page

Credibility

Credibility is something I have struggled with for years, since the second church plant failed. I really believe it to be something God is doing, as pretty much everything that goes on in a Christian's life is something God is doing. It is part of my training - humility, frustration, and disappointment.  Frankly, I don't like it very much.


Teaching is my most favorite thing to do in this world. I would rather do it than scuba dive (my second most favorite thing, though I have only done it once... it was really cool). I would rather do it than sit on a beach. Seriously, I would. I don't really know why. I really, really like it. Of course, the teaching has to be about God, reality and everything.


What is the best way for people to learn? Lecture? Truly, most people don't learn that well by lecture. They say the percentage of information retained is very small. Now discussion is way more effective. Why? Because, in the discussion, the intellectual point gets challenged. You can't do that from a seat in front of a pulpit...it would be considered rude.


I love discussion, even debate. When you are in a discussion, it is just like teaching, or rather, it should be. It should be a two way thing, but sadly, for me, it no longer is. I think this is due to credibility. It appears that in our western culture, only the big, impressive, successful ministers are credible. This is sad. Extremely sad!


I believe I am right, just like everybody else. However, I do realize that I am more than likely wrong on a great deal of topics relating to God. This is simply because I am a man and not God. None of us will have all the answers, but within the Church, we have a huge advantage due to the Holy Spirit working amongst us. But this is currently not working at all. Again, credibility. Somehow, in our culture, especially our church culture, only the impressive have a right to speak into our lives. Does not every Christian have the Holy Spirit? Through that Spirit, do we not all have access to the mind of Christ as written in 1 Corinthians chapter 2? This is such a waste of the greatest gift the church has...us.


As I said, I love to talk about the things of God. I love to tell others what I know...which is why I am writing at this very moment. So I really do talk about these things often. When most talk about the Cowboys or the Patriots, I wait for a God topic or bring it up myself when I see a hole in the conversation. I know, people think I am weird. I am, and proudly so. I think it is what Jesus wanted. What I really want though, is not just to be heard. I would like to enter into discussion. Unfortunately, what I get is dismissive looks and a recommendation to look at what some master theologian has to say. This doesn't make me angry, but it is disappointing. I have tried for years to find another, anyone, who will look me dead in the eye and say, sorry dude, you are wrong and here is why. Don't tell me to read Charles Stanley's latest book. I am not interested in Charles Stanley's information. I want to know what the Holy Spirit says, and he most often speaks through the unimpressive people around me. I want to hear from you.


Sure you can tell me what Charles Stanley says, but tell me why you believe it and justify your position with the words of my favorite book. That way, I get the message from your heart and God's Spirit.

I am not saying that these big name guys are not teaching through God's Spirit. They very well might be. But it is much easier for me to see the Holy Spirit move through you because I see how you act. How you treat others. To me, that gives you credibility, not some degree, monster church or TV show. Some of the most evil men I have ever known are successful pastors with big honkin churches. But their words are coming from hearts of stone. Thus they are not credible.


What makes you credible? Do you even think you are? If you have the Holy Spirit, you are incredibly credible. That doesn't make you right all the time. I don't believe the Holy Spirit will give anyone all the answers, because we would end up worshiping them. But it is really wonderful to talk to different brothers and sisters to gather nuggets of awesome information.


Yet, this doesn't happen often anymore. I think we have picked up the worldly lie that we should not offend anyone. This way it is so much easier to avoid arguments. “You should read the book by Reverend Pastor Doo Doo Head”. No thanks, I will pass. I don't mind reading, but I cannot debate the points from a book. It becomes frustrating. There is no solution, no resolution, no satisfaction on hammering out truth. It is purely one sided and to me, feels empty.


It is so much more satisfying to banter back and forth with a brother to whittle off the lies and find the truth. It can be done and it can be done without offense. The trick is to enter into the discussion with a simple goal, finding the truth. People get mad when they are disagreed with either because of pride (“How dare you disagree with me”) or fear (“I don't want to consider that I may be wrong, my fragile ego can't handle it”) Let me again clarify... you are wrong already, you just need to man up and find out where.


So, for now. I am not very credible using the world's and worldly Church's current standards. Ever wonder why the Church seems so powerless in our age? I think this is a big part of the problem.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page