top of page

Factions

Updated: Feb 22



Just a few weeks ago, while still in NH, Martha and I were hanging out with some old friends.


Friends we met at a Vineyard Church in Chelmsford, MA. This was the church that sent me out to plant the church in Manchester, NH.


For years now, as can be seen in my writing, I thought that the distaste for myself in the church started after the second church plant failed, in Cave Creek, AZ.


Apparently, I was wrong.


While Martha and I were talking with our friends, I mentioned that very thing, saying that I thought the dissmissivness and hatred from church people didnt start until Phoenix. That in Chelsmford I didnt have that problem. He looked at me skeptically, and said, "well, there were factions".


It kind of stuck with me. Well, it makes more sense that this Mark that God has placed on me, and my calling as one of the least, started further back, as I did run into a lot of opposition.


It always seemed worse after the second Church plant failed, but I see now that the dislike for me was always there, subtly, but when given a reason, the goats just fully exposed themselves.


We came to the church in Chelmsford after being rejected by a hateful pastor in Nashua. I had thought that was an isolated incident. Looking at it now, I can see it differently. Once on the outs with the pastor, almost all in the church wanted nothing to do with Martha and myself. I had figured it was so as to not also end up on the outs with said pastor, but I can see it was actually more sinister.


It was a faction.


Fake in the church is a terrible thing and something God hates with a passion. Fake is being nice when you really dislike someone...until you can feel justified in presenting it openly.


You just need a reason.


God has plenty of reasons to hate us all. I've probably given him at least twelve of them since I woke up this morning, and it's only 8 am.


But He doesn't.

No, because He is full of grace.


Considering that gift of grace that we have received, through faith, not by anything good we have done, you would think that we also would be unable to hate anyone...


As Christians, we ARE unable, if we truly follow Christ.


"Are you saying that those who dislike you aren't Christian?"


I'm saying Jesus says that.


Look, of course you will dislike some people in a church gathering. Many are very early in the stages of sanctification, so they need a little extra grace. Yes, they are irritating at times, but if they are His...they are His work.


He doesn't like His work criticized either.


You must understand, none of us are worthy...except by the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. None of us!


So where is the "better thans" coming from?


Satan


If all you need is an excuse to expose your hateful, proud, heart, God will give it to you. He will do it by sending someone like me.


Jesus said there are only two groups, two factions, Sheep and Goats. What side you are on depends solely on how you treat the ones who just seem to bother you.


Keep in mind, after God gave them a reason, the goats were rude and downright mean to me.


Yet, Jesus clearly states that those on the left will include those who just simply dismissed those they felt "better than"...

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page