top of page

Goats Have to Be on Top



Matthew 25:40 NIV

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’


The least.


Though service for the poor, homeless, fatherless and widows is a really good thing, the passage above, concerning the division of the sheep and the goats (Judgment Day), is not referring to them.

No, Jesus says it is concerning the least of His brothers and sisters. The “least of these” according to His own words are Christians, true followers of Jesus Christ.


Luke 8:21 NIV

21 He replied, “My mother and brothers are those who hear God’s word and put it into practice.”


They may not be pretty, they may not be wonderful, and they may even be rather socially awkward. It doesn’t matter how popular or how well they fit in your little church social group, if they are followers of Jesus Christ, they are extremely important to Him…and may be there to expose the hearts of those who are not really following Jesus – the Goats.


Matthew 25: 41-43 NIV

41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels.

42 For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink,

43 I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’


So, how are you treating those who seem to be on the outside in your church?

As a Pastor or Ministry Leader, how are you leading those who follow you?

Do you reject disciples based on obedience to God or to you?

Do you only hang out with only those who you “like”?

Do you ignore new folks unless they seem to be impressive enough or add value?


Keep in mind that the goats are exposed in the passage above by simply ignoring, not helping, not inviting and not visiting the “least”. So, if you are unkind, or unfriendly, out right reject and treat badly these “plants” from God in your church body, you are truly a rather mature…Goat.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page