top of page

He's Lost His Mind



Matthew 16:26 (NIV)

26 What good will it be for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul?


Yes, I could make my life better. I could get much of what I want in life, but I would have to cheat to do it. I could get a better job again, but I would need to lie on my resume. I could get a younger companion, but I would need to hurt my wife and break my marriage covenant before God.


"Look, it happens all the time now, so what would be the big deal?"


Simple, I dont want to lose the most important thing in all the universe. My relationship with God, through Jesus Christ.


We have all seen someone do it. I have seen far too many in my now 57 years. Men and women who "slip up" and lose their minds as they throw away a life they built for many, many years. It is sad to watch and the scenario is always consistent. Life got hard. Their position is not what they expected. Happiness seems to have fallen aside. Yet, they have one thing. A solid walk with God.


In the midst of this sadness and frustration a temptation arises. Temptations happen a lot as our faith is tested. But then a failure happens. Guilt and shame in the midst of all the other disappointments becomes overwhelming. To confess this failure is too much, so lies are less intolerable. When the failure is exposed, the lies are now a comfortable tool to blame others instead of facing the failure.

This is where the soul is lost and the way of the world is embraced.


We wonder in amazement at how much people change when this happens. It is also amazing how well they seem to do after they commit to this wrong direction. Their job situation becomes way better. Their new spouse or partner is younger and full of money. Now they are much happier. What about God?


"Oh, God has forgiven me. I asked and he forgives after all."


Yes God does forgive, but there is always a price. Jesus paid it for salvation, for those who believe. Those who believe, trust and follow God no matter how hard life is. Those who don't believe...don't.


The soul is not just some simple spiritual thing. It also includes our minds and hearts and it is worth more than all the riches and happiness in all the world. This is not something you ever want to lose.


Matthew 16:24-26 (NIV)

24 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me.

25 For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it.

26 What good will it be for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul?


So when you see this happen to friends, family and church members, keep in mind, they didnt just slip up and lose their minds. They lost much, much more than that.


Never loose heart. Your struggle in life has a perfect purpose. It is is in God's hand. It always was. It always will be...unless you lose your mind and jump out.


If you do "slip up" don't embrace the world. Don't turn to lies. Take the shame you deserve and truely find God's forgiveness. Peter did, after a denial no less. We all can, if we turn back and accept the cross that God the Father chose for us.


It will be worth it, and far more than what the world can offer.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page