top of page

Interactions with God #115




Man of God.


I think to many this term conjures an image of a guy in a long robe and with a long staff. Though this hollywoodesque picture may have fit the narrative back during the time of Moses, it doesn’t fit anymore. Now, a man of God would look just like everyone else, except for how they live.


A Man of God is simply that, a MAN - OF - GOD. Any man or woman who REALLY belongs to God will show their faith.


How is this faith shown? By miracles? Possibly, yes, but that can be counterfeited. By feeding the hungry? Yes, but evil people can easily do “good” works too. How about winning the lost? Sure, but anyone can tell someone about Jesus and get them to recite a “sinners prayer”. Jesus Himself said that the “goats” will do these things and more, yet they will still be cast aside.


Why? Because they are not the people of God. The men and women of God can be known by their actions toward God and others. This is what Jesus said. This is what is written.


How we respond to circumstances. Do we lie on our resume to get a job, lie to keep a job, or lie to protect anything of ours? Do we justify cheating someone because of any reason? Do we trust God in the circumstances or do we break the rules to try to alter them? For me, breaking the rules was never a big issue. My struggle was in losing it… I call it “getting in God’s face.”


Look, there is nothing inherently wrong with getting in God’s face. In fact, I think He generally appreciates it. Moses did it. David did it. I still do it. Where else are we to go? Should I complain to Martha that God is not being kind to me? Should I complain to others in the church? Should I go to the unsaved? No, for scripture is clear that complaining to others about what God is doing is wrong. But, is complaining to God, in His very face, wrong?


That depends on your heart.


I have already written of interactions where I got in God’s face, even yelling obscenities. His response was always gracious and full of love. But in each of those times, my heart was full of pain and disappointment, rather than doubt or mistrust.


God is God. He is in charge of my life including the circumstances to the minutest detail. I know His plan is good, and the road will end up in an awesome place, even though some of the bumps and turns are really bad…even though the road itself is bad and my vehicle is long past its warranty.


The truth is, these times of pain are supposed to hurt. These times not only make our faith grow, but prove its worth. That proof is for us, but it is also for others in this world and even the very host of heaven. That faith, as it is written, is worth more than gold. This is what Jesus is coming back for.


So the question from God is, and we face it every day and in every circumstance, “Do you trust me?” Faith will always answer, maybe with tears, maybe with laughter, maybe in an angry shout…but it will always answer…yes.


Being humbled is a part of the pain that is needed for faith to be tested and grow. Losing a really high paying job where you are responsible for a region that includes whole continents, yet now you are sitting at home trying to get ANY job… well, I can tell you, that does test your metal.


In 2010, I was humbled. By then I was already unemployed for over a year. Martha was working part time. Unemployment, kept getting extended due to the efforts of the government to “help” people and get votes. Unemployment had already lasted much longer than it used to. Instead of six to ten months, it had lasted more than a year and three months. However in April of 2010, the unemployment benefits were quickly coming to an end and I had no job in sight. The job market was just plain dead.


After leaving the Rowlett Vineyard, we had started to attend a church called Ridgeview. It was a larger church but not one of those megachurches. The Ridgeview church experience was better. We did make some friends there and no one openly hated me. Though the friendships never really got deeper than hanging out every few months or so. For a family that after 4 years still didn’t have any close friends locally, this was just not enough. Yet, it would have to do.


One of the few couples we did have dinner with a few times was Gene and Marsha Ramos. Gene, like me, had also been struggling with the job market. He had lost his job with a trucking company and was unable to find anything in his industry. He finally did get a job, paying much less than he was used to, working for one of the deacons of the church. This deacon owned a pool cleaning, repair and supply company called Poolside.


When you are living on a small income, every day is a danger. If I didn’t work a day, we would fall behind a considerable amount. Toward the end of April, unemployment had run out. My last unemployment check would equate to $10 an hour, but for only one more day. On that last day, the very last day, I got a call from Gene. Gene said there was a guy named Jeff who contracted for Poolside to do repairs. He said Jeff was looking for a helper to work with him at $10 an hour. I gave Jeff a call.


I started working with him the very next morning holding screwdrivers and digging ditches. Limited income as it was, there was no break at all in the current flow. Yes, even at that small amount, the timing had God’s signature all over it. That signature was made even more obvious in just a month and a half.


I worked for Jeff from April to sometime in June of 2010. Jeff swore like a sailor and smoked like a chimney…as we drove from job to job in his truck…with the windows rolled up. Yea, fun, fun, fun. After enduring this humbling situation for a month and a half, Jeff let me know that he would not need my help anymore. That same day, I got an email from the Texas State Unemployment office. The state had approved another unemployment extension. That extension started the day after my last day of working for Jeff. Yea, His signature again.


Sure, it is awesome to see God’s hand in your life. Sure it is a wonder to realize the detail of His absolute control. Yet it is also an awkward thing when you have to try to explain that to a State Agency! And yes, I had to.


When on unemployment, the State requires you to inform them of your job status. To leave out a job is illegal and can cause a forfeit of benefits and/or a fine. As a man of God, leaving out something would also be a lie and not something I would do. I started the job with Jeff the day after my unemployment ended. I ended the job the day before unemployment started again. Yes, to the State of Texas, it looked rather fishy…


When they called, I didn’t tell them it was God’s doing, but I did imply it. After going back and forth with the Unemployment Agency, and giving them Phone numbers for both Jeff and Poolside, they finally accepted my unemployment claim extension.


At Ridgeview, the pastor, named Matt, asked Martha how things were going. She told him the situation and how unemployment started again the day after my job ended. He thought that was great. Martha did not share his enthusiasm. Curious, he asked her why. She told him a truth, one that you find out after walking with God this way.


God will provide. However, when he provides for your financial need with unemployment or a low paying temporary job, it means that the trial is not over. When God is testing your faith, it is always for a season. That season can be an hour, a day, a month or even years. When the testing is over, blessing does follow. A continuation of unemployment meant that the testing was not over. Martha said to the pastor, “I would rather have not gotten the unemployment extension, for if we had not gotten it, God would have helped us with a better job for Lou.” The pastor marveled at her response.


Those are the words of a Woman of God. The words of a faith in a God that is all powerful, good, and has a great plan. Even when spoken in pain, frustration and disappointment. Yes, that is what they are… words of faith.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page