top of page

Interactions with God #12

Updated: Dec 15, 2023

Discipleship, this is a term that is thrown about by many Christians, Churches and Ministries.  What does it really mean?  I think many have got it wrong.  Yes, there is an intentional effort to teach, guide and shape a younger Christian by a more experienced one.  But I believe that discipleship is much more than that.  For one, it is not something you can just walk up to another and say, “I am going to disciple you”.  Yes, I have had this happen to me, by several who either did not have much more experience, or had even less.  Jesus did it by walking up to people and just saying follow me.  He didn’t command it, or boast about it.  He just walked up and if they followed, they were his disciples.  A disciple is a student.  The disciple-er is a teacher.  But more than that, they should become great friends.


Doug VanPelt was the first to reach out to me in that capacity.  He took it upon himself to help me in my Christian infancy.  We all need it.  He had been a Christian for a while. Was he a perfect one? No.  Was he really experienced? No, but he did love Jesus…what else do you really need?  Doug became my friend.  He also introduced me to a small circle of friends that I was invited to hang out with.  (If your circle is not open to new believers, you really need to find or create a new circle).  These friends included Carey Womack, Cindy and Curtis Tarpley.  Carey was a young pastor of a small Baptist church.  Cindy, Doug and I were students at UT (though I was out on probation that semester).   Curtis was an old friend of Carey.  We would get together to hang out, talk bible, God, and other stuff.  We would also pray together.  Additionally, we went witnessing together too.  Yea, that stuff.


Witnessing, this is terrifying to many Christians, especially new ones.  I understood by the information that I was now getting through the Intervarsity Christian Fellowship bible study, Christian Radio teaching and Doug’s influence, that this was something ALL Christians should be able to do.  But what did I know?!  I was not a recent convert, but I was new all the same.  I knew almost nothing. 


Yet, here was Doug.  Pestering me to go out to the sixth street of Austin Texas to tell people about Jesus!  Wow, talk about commitment.  Talk about putting yourself out there.  There would be no doubt about my new walk now.  Sixth Street, for those of you who don’t know Austin, is, was and probably always will be the quintessential collage bar strip.  It was a main street in the city of Austin, but loaded with bars on both sides for quite a few blocks.  It was packed with students and young people every Friday and Saturday night.  Yup, Doug wanted to go there! 


So, here it was, the first Friday of my “tell people about Jesus experience”.  Doug and Carey came to get me, and though I was terrified, I went.  Now, to explain, how we did what we did, I call it “primitive witnessing”.  It is really simple, and yet, can be really effective.  God, can after all use pretty much anything.  Doug and Carey would simply stand on the sidewalk and say to people passing by “Jesus loves you.”  Yea, not very sophisticated, no tracks, no plan, but it did work. 


The three of us were just standing there.  Carey and Doug were doing the Jesus loves you thing, while I just stood there nearby.  I didn’t say a word.  Carey ended up in a conversation with someone off to the side, so it was now just Doug and I standing there, with Doug saying the phrase every time someone walked by. 


Three guys were walking up to where we were.  Doug made the pitch, the one on the inside said to him, “Yeah, what of it?”  Not exactly the kind of response that you hope for, but it would have to do.  Doug began to talk to this guy.  The other two just stood there, kind of awkward looking, just like I was.   Then the one in the middle looked at me and said “Well, what do you think?”  For a split second I froze, terrified and bewildered.  I had no bible knowledge, I new NOTHING!  What in the world was I going to say?


The Holy Spirit is real; he lives in us and moves through us.  I had heard this, but didn’t really understand it…until that night.  What happened next can best be described as a well of water suddenly filling up and pouring out over the sides.  The feeling was intense.  It came from my heart area.  Yes, it was just a feeling, but with it was a strong confidence as well.  I began to speak, I told them of Jesus, what I knew and how I felt about him.  I told him what he was and what he could do.  I told them of promises and plans.  I quoted scriptures I didn’t even know yet.  I told them about the one who could save them.  I spoke like I was on a podium on any given Sunday.  I didn’t stutter.  It was absolutely amazing!  I had never felt so powerful and purposeful. 


They didn’t get saved that night, as far as I know, but I could clearly see that the Holy Spirit had made a dent.  They left almost as friends. 


Needless to say, Doug had created a monster.  I had become addicted.  I now wanted to tell everybody.  So, now every time the weekend was approaching, I was the one calling Doug to go out to witness. 


Obviously, I still like to tell people about Jesus.  For two reasons really, one, because it is my most favorite topic, and two, because I hope everyone I meet will understand how real and important Jesus is.  It is like knowing that a house is going to burn down.  If I believe it, I am going get out, but I will also work hard to get everyone else out; especially those I care about.  


So, if you are bothered by someone who stands on a soap box to tell you about Jesus, keep in mind, they do it because they care for you.  Why else would they take that risk?

Ok, they might also just be addicted to seeing God do something really cool…


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page