top of page

Interactions with God #16

Updated: Aug 28

On one of the Friday nights in late 1984, we had planned to go out to 2nd St. in Austin.  We had begun going to 2nd street for a few weeks to try to talk to punkers about Christ.  Because they were generally late night folks, we would not even head out till around Midnight. 


There was a local Christian radio station; I don’t remember the call letters.  It was very beneficial to me at that early growth stage. I listened during the day to many of the teachers to soak in all I could about God, the Bible and life in general.  After work hours, they played regular Christian music.  The radio station also had a program that came on much later, I believe around 11pm.  I don’t remember the name of it, but all they played was Christian Rock music. 


While waiting for my friends to come and get me, I was listening to this program.  The DJ had a call in contest for a cassette tape of a fairly well known Christian Rock band.  I called, and happened to be the winning caller.  Since I didn’t have any money to buy this stuff, winning something was awesome. 


I told my buds when they showed up that I had won a tape, and asked if we could drop by the station to pick it up.  The station was not really out of the way, so they agreed and we went to the radio station.  This is where we met Paul Q-Pek.  Paul was the DJ. 


Paul, having been by himself running his show, was thrilled to have a group of people come in.  He asked us a bunch of questions on who we were, and why we were out and about so late.  We told him that we were going out to witness to young punkers on 2nd street.  He thought that was a great idea, and asked if we would wait for him to finish his show so he could join us.   We agreed, and then this became a rather regular thing.  We would head out on the weekends, meet up at the station, sit with Paul and then go out to talk to punkers in Austin till the wee hours. 


During one of these at station meetings, we were all gathered and praying together.  I felt God’s presence and said to him “I wish I could just hug you right now”.  He replied. “Hug them”. 


I understood because of my now growing knowledge of the bible that he was referring to the passage where he says “Whatever you do to the least of my brothers, you do to me”.  I already understood that passage from a negative connotation, that whatever bad things I do to another believer, I do to Jesus.  I had not yet, until that day really considered the positive side.  What ever I do in kindness to another believer of Jesus… I also do to him.


Do good to your fellow believers my friends! Showing others love is not only nice, but also something tangible that we can do to show our love directly to Jesus Himself.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page