top of page

Interactions with God #58

 

Martha got a job with a small company that another member of the church owned, stuffing envelopes. Me, I was still working for 786 Services, mostly building bicycles.  I was no longer doing any ministry at the church.  Sadly, many of the people who hung out with us before, no longer would.  We were clearly on the bad side of the pastor.  Only the closest of our friends would still invite us over. 

 

Martha announced her pregnancy to me around October of that year.  A month or so after she made her announcement, my time working with 786 services ended abruptly. I just got tired of Sam’s lies, so I quit.  Fortunately, one of the elders of the church, named Dan Broeder, had a painting business and needed help.  The pay was OK, but if we didn’t work, we didn’t get paid. 

 

Dan had also hired a guy named Dave Fenton.  Like Dan, Dave was also an elder in the church.  I hate painting, but working with Dave made it much easier.  While making white walls whiter, we would chat about biblical things.  We listened to tapes and discussed topics of all sorts.  This made the work much more tolerable. 

 

On one evening, driving home from a job with Dave, I began to feel ill.  When you get the flu, there is that period where you just don’t feel right.  Sometimes you think it is that others are particularly more annoying that day, but when the flu really takes hold, you come to a realization…”Oh, blast! I’ve got the flu.”  That realization came shortly after I got home.  A fever had fully kicked in, along with the body aches.  I was clearly not going to be working tomorrow, in fact, I probably wouldn’t be for the rest of the week. 

 

Martha had left her job stuffing envelopes.  Because morning sickness, the standing and the glue, had made it impossible for her to continue. I was the only one working.  A few days off, would have been really bad.

 

I called Dave to tell him not to pick me up in the morning, because I had the flu.  He replied, “Oh, Ok, I will be right over.”  I asked him, “What do you mean? I got the flu, you don’t want to come over now.”  He replied reminding me of the scripture regarding the elders of the church being called to pray for the sick.  He said he was an elder, I was sick…it was a no brainer.  In a few minutes, he showed up at our door with a little jar of oil and a smile.

 

You know, I knew God heals.  I knew God did miracles.  I just never really thought he would do it for me.  Dave prayed a simple prayer over me as I lied there on the couch.  Nothing happened and I didn’t feel anything.  After Dave finished the prayer, he sat on a chair and chatted with Martha and I for a few minutes…around five minutes.  It was then that the body aches started to leave.  It was gradual at first, but in a minute or so, I was completely healed of the flu.  I no longer had a fever, aches or fatigue.  God, had just healed me.  Me!

I was definitely thrilled!  Then the thought hit me.  I now have to work tomorrow…”Oh, bummer.”


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page