top of page

Invisibility Is My Superpower

Updated: Jun 10

It is such a strange thing going to a church with my calling. I can walk through crowds of "christians" like I'm not there at all...invisible.


If they see me at all, most just turn away quickly. Even after a descent message on how we are to love

others. I remain unseen.


I clear entire rows of seats on a regular basis. I come in early and generally no one will sit near me. It is consistent, and rather odd.


I know what it is and why, but it's still hard not to feel a wee bit judgmental, because I get treated this way. It is in fact God's doing.


I am one of the least.


Before I fully understood this, He gave me a vision. In the vision, I saw a crowd of people. Then a great hand came down an grabbed a man by the head, and set him aside a distance from the crowd. He then said to me, "I have marked you. I have marked you in such a way that those who hate me, will hate you, and those who are mine, but are insecure will be uncomfortable around you."


He gave me this vision on my birthday in 2008, just after I got a layoff notice from my manager who hated me, and was told by a pastor that there is something wrong with me.


I cried after the Holy Spirit spoke.


When you can clear an aisle, or get distanced, consistently in any church, on any Sunday, Wednesday, or home group, finding out that the problem isn't me, offered a bit of healing warmth.


Still, He didn't say why, until 2 years ago. That was when He told me what I had been called to from way back in 1984. Yeah, that is a long time.


Apparently, I walk around with a cloud of uncomfortorability that just pushes folks away. I can't really blame them, as God made them. We are all His work after all.


I'm real friendly, as anyone who has managed to get beyond this mark, can attest to. So, this invisibility and/or reason to despise, isn't because I'm rude, snotty, or distant. No, it is rather weird that folks do this.


I also know I'm not the only one, as clearly "the least" are being used by God to expose goatness, and have been around as long there has been a church.


Yet, though most assume the least are those odd believers who are anti-social, poor, or struggling. I believe, all of the least are not struggling, or difficult at all. We just have this mark, this cloud of uncomfortability. Apparently, it's my super power, like a Spiritual Pig-pen!


No, it isn't a power anyone would ask for. Oh, but actually, I did!


You see, in 1984, when I cried out to God in August of that year, Jesus appeared to me in a vision. He was holding a rather large book. I had asked Him to take my life, because I was wrecking it. Once He appeared, He replied to me directly, "I will take your life, and make something of you."


For whatever reason, I responded to Him. "Good, but I don't want to just sit in a church pew. I want you to make me the best you can make me, not the best I can make me."


His response to that request was to write that down in the great book He was holding.


You see, two years ago, while singing in a church worship service, I said to Him, "So, I've not done much of anything for you. It has all failed miserably. Yet, you said you would take my life and make me the best you can make me. Surely, this can't be it!"


His response? "What is the best I can make you? The best, is the greatest of mine..."


Now, I had suspected for a few years that being one of the least was my calling, I even wrote about it 10 years ago. Still, until He said it that way, I really didn't believe it.


I did then. Finally, it all fit together so well. He did exactly what I asked Him too.


I'm not as bothered by the distance and invisibility as much as I was, but as I write this, yes, it obviously still strikes a nerve.


As believers in Christ, I write often about how we, having salvation by faith alone, should be the nicest, most kind, people on the planet. Yet, I find few who really are.


He did say "few would make it"


This is my calling, my job before God. To expose these areas of weak faith so God can address them before its too late.


I guess it's really not that bad of a calling. I just hope those who can't see, or accept me because of Him, will grow after His discipline comes.


Yes, it will come. It always does, if you are a son or daughter.


I have seen it, as many times as I have cleared a row.






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page