top of page

THE Author

Updated: May 16


Stories don't write themselves. It just isn't possible. How could pen and paper, keyboard and monitor, meet and create an entire universe without someone to think up all that is created?


There must be an Author...always. stories don't just happen. Even within the story, what seems like chance, or happenstance, to a character, was planned out and executed when the Author put the words out there.


The words are the entirety of that reality. Whatever the Author writes...is. He can kill a character and raise them from the dead. It would be very easy to do. The Author can do anything.


The characters have no power at all over that reality. Even if the Author gives them super powers within the story, they can only do what the Author writes. They are limited. They can never be the Author.


George Lucas created the Star Wars universe. He came up with the rules, the plot line and the flow of the story. After creating it, and it become popular, others got involved and the universe expanded to have many additional authors.


Fan fiction even increases that further. Now the universe is a mix and mess of creators that is hard to control. Even the "cannon" storyline is impossible to limit.


I myself can simply imagine a new Star Wars character and add them to the universe, only in my own mind.


What power! What capability! I become a god! What I will, what I think becomes reality to that character. I could make them awesome, or pathetic. I could have them walk on water, or change water into wine. I could even make them...me.


It would be simple for me to do.


The problem here is the future of my character, my story, my universe. It all depends on what happens to me. If I die, my story ends abruptly. So does all my characters, including the one who represents me.


If no other "authors" picked up my story, no one will ever know it existed. Functionally, it will never have existed.


Any universe created must be held and managed by an Author. If that stops, so does the story.


Oh, there are readers, those outside the story, not characters, that could hold the story in their minds and hearts. When George Lucas dies, his universe will continue, but if the human race dies, so does the Star Wars universe. There would be no one to remember, read, or add to the story. Again, it would functionally never have existed.


It seems pointless.


What if, though, an Author created a vast story, with stories within stories. What if that Author, who can and does live outside of time and space, be eternal...infinite?


Singular.


His story would never end...neither would His favorite characters.


What kind of character would you want to be?


Me, I would like to be one of the favored characters.


It helps if you seek to know the Author.


Otherwise, I would end up wearing a red shirt...forgotten, temporary, only a plot device.


Ah, but if that is what happens, it is so because I was written that way...


Yes, I do, I just love this stuff.


OK, I'm done here, now I'm gonna go fight a windmill.









3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page