top of page

Whining



"Your whining is not going to make this go any faster."


I just said this to my dog, Little Man.


I am cooking his dinner and he knows it. I would give it to him raw, as it is better for him that way, but he is a fussy thing and will not eat it unless I cook it. He is hungry so I can sympathize, but it is still rather annoying.


Immediately, I am reminded of how whiny I get in the face of God as I wait for Him to move.


It has reached a top level whine now that I have put his ground beef in a dish to cool. He must think me a royal jerk knowing his dinner is sitting just an arms length from me, yet I sit here and type into that phone thing....yeah, you BIG jerk.


He doesn't understand. The food is really hot. He would eat it and burn his face. He is not that bright after all.


I get it. God is in control. No, really He is. Of all things. I could quote Scripture after Scripture, story after story, but if you don't want to see it, you won't. Well, unless He wants you to.


As interesting a point as this seems to be about NOT whining and trusting God...it is not. Though it might sound real noble or rather self-righteous to do so, frankly that would be disgusting to me, and I think to God as well.


I am a man. I have a supremely limited perspective. God on the other hand sees all and knows all. He made me for heaven sakes! He is even in control of my choices, decisions and, yes, even whining.


Yet, as I become irritated by the whining of Little Man, I know that God is not irritated by mine. You see, I really don't see much more of what is really going on than the dog does. Yes, God has a plan. Yes part of it includes disappointment and pain. The dog only knows his stomach needs something. Me I know I need more. Like the dog, I really don't know why or when the best time is, so I must trust. The whining is not trust, but it IS part of the process to grow in trust. God knows this. He made the process after all.


So please, stop judging your brother for whining to or about God. Instead maybe walk with the Holy Spirit a bit and encourage them to seek God's face for answers. Better yet, seek with them.


I know they would appreciate it...wouldn't you?


I know I would, for I am just a little man myself.






0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Run!

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page