top of page

You Might Not Like What Your Asking For



He Spoke With Authority.

I have very little authority.

No, it's true. It's been that way from the beginning, when I first started following Jesus Christ.


Mark 1:22

The people were amazed at his teaching, because he taught them as one who had authority, not as the teachers of the law.


Authority is given by those, or the one in authority. God, of course is THE source and personage of all authority. As Scripture states, there is no one beside or above Him. He is it. So all authority is ultimately given by God.


Romans 13 1-3

The authorities that exist have been established by God. Consequently, he who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves. For rulers hold no terror for those who do right, but for those who do wrong.


As I said the last time I wrote, the phrase "in Jesus' name" is an admission of action done in His authority. It is not a magic phrase and absolutely useless when said without any authority given by God.


And no, because we are Christian does not automatically gift us with His authority. Jesus gave authority to His disciples. They didn't have it because they were His disciples, HE gave it to them.


With the authority given by God, the miraculous happens. This includes speaking a message from God with power. Without that power and authority, the message may be true and interesting, but it will lack that umph that truly makes it relevant and life changing.


God has taught me many things, many truths, through the Holy Spirit and Scripture. I can honestly say it's not because of endless study and search. Most of the time I read or consider something and words will just flow. They really aren't mine so I write as they come. I do go back and clean it up as my typing stinks, even more so when I do it on my phone as I am right now...


I will tell anyone anything that God shares with me, mostly because I find it so awesome, I have a hard time keeping it in. Yet, when I do share, it almost always falls flat at the hearers or readers feet.


Yes, it is frustrating.


No authority. How can I tell?


Acts 2:38-41

38 Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. 39 The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off—for all whom the Lord our God will call.”

40 With many other words he warned them; and he pleaded with them, “Save yourselves from this corrupt generation.” 41 Those who accepted his message were baptized, and about three thousand were added to their number that day.


3000 got saved through Peter's words.


The response is key. As in the first Scripture above, people noticed something different about the way Jesus taught. "He taught as one who had authority". This difference greatly affected the way they listened and responded.


People will listen.

People will ask questions.

People will follow.

People will change.


The authority of God, adds that needed umph to the simple words and information. Without it, the words just get lost in the massive amount of words everyone hears and reads on a daily basis.


When I hear from God, it has that authority. It not only rings true, loudly, but it fills me with that thrill which drives me to share it. Unfortunately, when I share the same information, people don't really listen, follow, change, and definitely don't ask questions.


My words, my teaching may come from the heart and the Holy Spirit, but if the Father doesn't add His authority to it, they will not amount to much of anything, and neither will yours.


I have had countless times that I have told someone something that I found phenomenal only to get "meh" in response. I have even heard something I told someone, repeated by them two days later, "You have to hear this, I don't remember where I heard it, but it is awesome!"


Martha once said to me something that I taught to her a long while before, but now she heard it from a radio teacher. Yeah, I have zero authority.


So, why would God do this? It doesn't mean I am wrong. It does mean that God either doesn't want the hearers to hear it now, or that it is not time for me yet to walk in His authority. Either way, my job is simply to write or speak what I know when He wants.


The result is not my responsibility, it is His.


As discouraging and frustrating as it can be, I have learned to let it go. I have done my job. I have pleased my Lord. If and when He wills it, I may, or will, speak with authority. When that day comes...it will be obvious.


And yet, I may not like it as much as I think I will...



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Questions or Discussions

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Aiming For The Center. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page